Welcome to the New Mexico Texas Philosophical Society (NM-TX), a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting philosophical thought and education. NM-TX holds annual meetings in late March or early April and is an inviting place for philosophers of all levels to present their ideas. In 2009, the Society held its first Student Colloquium which was a great success and continues to grow, a sign that indicates the strength and quality of NM-TX and the discipline of philosophy in general. Pursuant to the mission of NM-TX, the Society publishes a professional journal Southwest Philosophical Studies (SPS). SPS is a blind and peer reviewed journal which publishes ten to twelve of the best papers accepted into the annual conference.

Call For Papers - 66th Annual Conference

March 27 - 29, 2015

The University of Houston - Downtown

We invite papers on any philosophical topic in English or in Spanish for our annual conference to be held in Houston, Texas. The submission deadline is January 16, 2015. Papers ought not exceed 3,000 words (excluding footnotes and references) and presentable within 25 minutes. Each paper should be prepared for blind review and submitted electronically to http://tinyurl.com/NMTX2015 (using EasyChair.org). There will be commentaries on each paper, and authors of accepted papers will be
invited to comment upon other papers.

The New Mexico – Texas Philosophical Society has a longstanding tradition of publishing outstanding contributions in its journal, Southwest Philosophical Studies. Submissions will be automatically considered for publication, unless otherwise indicated in the submission process. Journal editorial practices require a strict maximum limit of 3,000 words and endnotes in MLA format.

Conference Hotel
The SpringHill Suites - Marriott Houston Downtown / Convention Center, located at 914 Dallas St., Houston, TX 77002 (Phone: 888/236-2427), is the conference hotel. Discounted rooms are available for $119 + tax per night (valet parking: $20/night), and conferees should make reservations by March 13, 2015 (Be sure to mention that you are with our group).

Registration and Fees
Conference registration fees are paid according to the schedule below. Presenters should mail payment prior to the conference by check to: Robert M. Louis, Treasurer, New Mexico Texas Philosophical Society, 5810 Creston Springs Court, Spring, TX 77379-8742, postmarked by March 13, 2015. Checks should be made payable to: NMTX Philosophical Society. Check or cash only accepted at the conference.

Status Postmarked Before 3/13/2015 Postmarked After 3/13/2015 or at the Conference
Full-time professors $70.00 $80.00
Part-time professors & adjuncts $45.00 $55.00
Graduate students $35.00 $45.00
Undergraduates/retired persons $25.00 $35.00
Observers not on the program FREE FREE

We award two prizes annually: (1) the Hubert Griggs Alexander Memorial Award for an excellent paper by a philosopher at any career level on any topic, but especially: aesthetics, philosophy of language, symbolic form, Hispanic philosophy, classical philosophy, or philosophy's role in the humanities; and (2) the Houghton Dalrymple Memorial Award for an excellent paper by a graduate student or recent Ph.D. on any topic, but with a preference for papers on epistemology or Hume. Award recipients will receive a $100.00 prize and publication in Southwest Philosophical Studies. Those wishing to be considered for either award should indicate so in the submission process. If you have any comments or questions, contact Joe Ulatowski using our Contact Us form.

Download PDF Announcement